[Sep 2021] Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegan?

Krispy Kreme Doughnuts is an American doughnut company and coffeehouse chain owned by JAB Holding Company. Wikipedia reports that there are currently over 1,400 locations around the globe. Our aim is to answer the question, “Do Krispy Kreme have vegan donuts?” Donuts at Krispy Kreme are vegan, though.

The company began expanding in the 1990s, opening a store in Ontario, Canada, and since then have evolved into an internationally known donut and beverage company. 

Does Krispy Kreme have vegan donuts?

Krispy kreme donuts

Krispy Kreme does not sell vegan donuts in the United States.

Krispy Kremes does not have a vegan recipe for any of its donuts in the United States as all ingredients contain dairies like milk and eggs.

The future looks promising, however. The UK has just seen Krispy Kreme release its first-ever vegan doughnut in 2021.

Yes, you’re right, plant-based buddies. Krispy Kreme has released a vegan version of their original glazed doughnut, which they’ve cleverly dubbed the Original Glazed Vegan Doughnut. Attractive.

Its trademark sticky glaze and light, fluffy texture are identical to the original, but there are no animal products.

According to Krispy Kreme, vegans can start celebrating Veganuary by buying the new product, but obviously, it will be a good purchase for everyone, not just those following the vegan diet for a month.

What Ingredients Are Used In A Krispy Kreme Donut?

At Krispy Kreme, they produce many different types of donuts. In fact, they sell 32 kinds of donuts in the United States, and they even make donut birthday cakes at their Burbank location.

As far as ingredients go, let us see what the ingredients are for the original Glazed Donut from Krispy Kreme so that we can get an idea of what an average donut from Krispy Kreme would look like. 

Vegan Donut Shops

However, there are still a number of donut shops that offer vegan-friendly donuts in every state of the country. Listed below is Peta’s collection of these. (https://www.peta.org/living/food/best-vegan-dougnut-shops-across-the-country/)

Disputed as a vegan. 

In January 2021, Krispy Kreme will be able to offer vegan donuts in the United Kingdom. Some ingredients have yet to be determined.

Krispy Kreme donuts are made with palm oil currently, like most vegan products and naughty snacks. 

The environmental impact of palm oil has become a topic of debate when it comes to its animal by-product-free nature.

Despite claiming to work with the RSPO for the purpose of procuring their ingredients, in this particular case, more sustainably and economically, Krispy Kreme still uses palm oil in its manufacturing process. 

Plant-based products like palm oil are generally avoided by vegans because of their environmental impact.

Then why? Due to palm oil’s deforestation, which threatens some of the world’s most biodiverse forests while increasing the danger of extinction of a variety of species, such as orangutans, pygmy elephants, and Sumatran rhinos. 

US people do not cook with palm oil as commonly as they do with butter; however, palm oil is a popular food additive and can be found in things like bread, pastries, chocolates, many candies, cereals, and peanuts butter.

Consuming palm oil-containing foods is, therefore, a personal decision. 

The Krispy Kreme company does not source directly from palm mills and plantations but instead works with organizations like RSPO, which allows the company to source its supplies in a highly responsible manner. 

Additional Krispy Kreme FAQs

Q: Does Krispy Kreme have eggless donuts?

All 45 varieties of Krispy Kreme donuts (including the mini donuts, doughnut holes, and three types of mini donuts) contain eggs yolks as of July 2019. Krispy Kreme, therefore, does not offer eggless donuts.

On their product pages, Krispy Kreme provides nutritional information about their doughnuts.

What kind of oil does Krispy Kreme use?

Palm and soybean oil are very common ingredients in all of Krispy Kreme’s donuts, according to the nutritional information. In conclusion, Krispy Kreme is likely to fry their donuts in palm oil and soybean oil.

Here are the product pages for Krispy Kreme doughnuts that contain nutritional information.

Q: Does Krispy Kreme use nuts?

According to Krispy Kreme’s ingredients, all 45 varieties of their donuts (including the 3 types of mini donuts and 4 varieties of Doughnut Holes) are nuts-free. Krispy Kreme’s FAQs state that the company’s stores contain peanuts and tree nuts. Consequently, Krispy Kreme donuts do not contain nuts at this time, but might do so in the future. In addition, some of their suppliers produce products that contain nuts, so their stores are not nut-free environments.

On their product pages, Krispy Kreme provides nutritional information about their doughnuts. ()

Q: Why are donuts not vegan?

Dairy products are often used in the production of donuts, including those made by Krispy Kreme. These ingredients are typically flavored or used for consistency, but they can be added for a variety of reasons. Vegans are forbidden from eating any ingredient derived from animals, therefore, these ingredients aren’t allowed in donuts.

Q: Does Krispy Kreme use lard?

All of Krispy Kreme’s doughnuts contain Kosher ingredients, according to their Nutritional Info page. Krispy Kreme does not use lard since lard is not a kosher ingredient. ()

Here are the product pages for Krispy Kreme doughnuts that contain nutritional information. ()

Conclusion

Although Krispy Kreme hasn’t introduced its vegan donuts to the US yet, we hope they will soon be available there from the UK.

You could even make your own vegan donuts if you fancy a vegan option. 

It is important to remember that Krispy Kreme still uses palm oil for their vegan option and that there is a small risk of cross-contamination should they introduce it to the United States. 

Eat green and eat happily!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *