Is Aveeno Cruelty-Free or Vegan in 2021 _

[Oct] What’s Gluten-Free at Taco Bell in 2021

You might find eating out difficult when your diet requires gluten-free foods. There are times when it is even impossible. Even many restaurants that provide allergy information or provide ingredient lists to customers with special dietary needs, still sometimes leave customers wondering how their food will be handled.

Taco Bell offers many gluten-free menu items, sides, and other gluten-free options, which we will highlight in this article and guide. Are you interested in knowing more about Taco Bell’s food’s nutrition and allergens?

Taco Bell Gluten Free Menu

What's Gluten-Free at Taco Bell in 2021
Photos from Tacobell.com

Taco Bell offers the following gluten-free options. According to Taco Bell’s page on how to avoid gluten, all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten. You should keep in mind that these products may still contain traces of gluten and cross-contamination.

Do you see anything that’s wrong or missing? Let us know. Originally published: October 4, 2021

The gluten-free diet can be challenging at fast-food restaurants. While some chains offer enough food at their stores to make a decent meal, others have menus incomprehensible or difficult to understand. Below is an article that explains everything you need to know about each chain. Additionally, it will feature ten more fast-food restaurants offering gluten-free options.

Most of the fast-food restaurants I’ve referred to prepare much of the food in the same area as gluten-containing foods, and therefore gluten can contaminate the normally gluten-free items.

What Can You Eat at Taco Bell If You’re Gluten-Free?

  • Hashbrown
  • Cantina Power Bowl – Veggie
  • Triple Layer Nachos
  • Boss Nachos – Chicken
  • Black Beans
  • Cantina Power Bowl – Steak
  • Chips and Guacamole
  • Boss Nachos – Steak
  • Black Beans & Rice
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos Chips

Taco Bell Sauces

  • Border Sauce – Diablo
  • Border Sauce – Mild
  • Border Sauce – Hot

Gluten-Free Chips at Taco Bell

As far as I know, the chips still come with a disclaimer that they may have been made using certain cooking techniques that contain gluten. Taco Bell may fry their chips in a different oil than fried items. Before ordering any chips, you may want to inquire. In order to prevent cross-contamination, Taco Bell claims to no longer fry its chips in the same oil as gluten-containing items.

Gluten-Free Dips at Taco Bell

As a result, you have the option of selecting from a variety of dips, such as nacho cheese, pico de gallo, guacamole, and salsa. Nacho cheese, beans, and red sauce are included in the “Triple Layer Nachos” that have nacho cheese. For a while, the red sauce’s safety was in question because of a yeast ingredient. However, this doesn’t seem to be an issue any longer. Various add-ons are available to upgrade your nachos at an additional charge if you do not like red sauce.

Shells
  • Tostada Shell
  • Nacho Chips
  • Crunchy Taco Shell
  • Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Tacos Shell
Veggies
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Lettuce
  • Jalapenos
Other GF Items at Taco Bell

There are other gluten-free options at Taco Bell, including:

  • Crunchy Taco
  • Black beans and rice
  • Hash Brown
  • Doritos Locos Tacos (only in nacho cheese flavor)

The Spicy Tostada at Taco Bell

The Spicy Tostada is a good choice if you want something a little less mild. Served with crunchy tostada shells, it is a simple dish consisting of refried beans, tomatoes, lettuce, and spicy sauce. If you don’t pay attention, you can make a mess fairly easily. The sauce actually tastes pretty good and stays pretty firm.

You don’t have to eat at Taco Bell every day, but you can enjoy it occasionally. Often you just need food no matter how strongly you disagree with the idea. You should take your lunch everywhere you go. You get tired of it. Frozen dinners that cost $8 are irritating. The restaurants that are nearby can limit where you can eat. I appreciate having even just a tub of beans and rice as a fast-food option nearby sometimes since Taco Bell is the only fast food option that isn’t a salad.

What Taco Bell Can Do to Expand Its Gluten-Free Options

Having said that, I believe Taco Bell should build on the Power Bowl by adding more items to its menu to stay competitive and in the right direction. Offering the gluten-intolerant an option that lets them put the insides of the burritos in a bowl, where they can put the rice on top of it, would definitely give them more options to choose from. In the present state of affairs, it’s nice to know there are a few meals that I can eat (more than other places), but obviously, they could do better.

Taco Bell History

Its founder, Glen Bell, was the inspiration for Taco Bell. Taco Bell was founded in 1946. Bell’s Drive opened in San Bernardino in 1983 when Glen Bell was 23 years old. After four years, he owned a hamburger stand called Bell’s Hamburgers and Hot Dogs, which is located in the Latino neighborhood of San Bernardino.

Bell decided to expand beyond its hamburgers and hot dogs menus in order to remain competitive in 1950 when the area around Bell’s Hamburgers and Hot Dogs were crowded with similar restaurants. In the meantime, he realized that there were long lines of customers outside of the Mexican restaurant across the street due to its hard shell tacos. In the following two years, he dined there at least twice a week, helping to reverse engineer its hard-shell taco recipe. The restaurant’s owners gave him their recipes over time, and he then became friends with them.

His tacos soon outsold hot dogs and hamburgers at his stand, so he decided to focus only on Mexican food. Soon, he was outselling everything he had previously offered. Taco Tia was the name of the taco stand they opened in 1954 with a partner.

Taco Tia became a hit after Bell married, moved to Los Angeles, and had to sell his shares to his partner after moving to the city. A group of partners opened El Taco after his exit from Taco Tia was successful. Initially, there were four locations of the new company in Southern California. A little later, he sold his shares to a partner and started over from scratch.

Glen opened his own Mexican restaurant based on his knowledge of fast food and restaurants. Taco Bell was the name suggested by a friend after combining his name and passion. Taco Bell opened its first building in 1962, a simple Spanish stucco structure measuring 20 feet wide by 20 feet high.

The following year, he opened his second location in Long Beach, followed by eight more across the region in two years.

Over 100 Taco Bells were scattered across Los Angeles in 1967 after Glen sold his franchise to Kermit Bekke in 1965.

Upon being sold to PepsiCo for $130,000,000 in 1978, Taco Bell expanded to thousands of restaurants. KFC, Taco Bell, and Piza Hut were spun off from PepsiCo in 1997 and acquired by the Kentucky-based Yum Foods.

There are more than 6,500 Taco Bells in the United States, serving more than 2 billion customers each year. Online ordering and Door Dash delivery were launched by Taco Bell in 2015.

What Exactly Is Gluten?

The elastic appearance of dough is due to the presence of gluten in cereal grains, particularly wheat. People with celiac disease are ill from this combination of two proteins.

Almost all of our common dietary items contain gluten, a firm, gluey protein. There are many products containing gluten, including bread, pasta, cereal, and desserts. Baking traditional baked goods requires baking powder since it gives a cake or muffin its “fluffy” texture. Additionally, it binds dough and gives it a moist appearance.

While gluten is beneficial for the creation of texture in baked goods, for some people it is a severe digestive issue and detrimental to their health, leading to diabetes, rheumatoid arthritis, and colon cancer. Going gluten-free is essential to feeling healthy for those who are gluten sensitive or allergic.

Overview of Taco Bell’s gluten-free options

Check out Taco Bell’s gluten-free tips and a quick summary

  1. A great choice would be crunchy tacos and nacho cheese doritos tacos.
  2. You should let them know if you have Celiac Disease or are allergic to gluten so they can take precautions when preparing your meal.
  3. The meat you buy is gluten-free most of the time, but be wary of cross-contamination.
  4. There are many negative reviews on Find Me Gluten Free about Taco Bell, which indicates most people had a bad experience. Most people don’t understand what the staff is saying. It is recommended that you only order items you are certain are safe. Try something safe like Chipotle if you are unsure.
  5. Avoid the cheese and fiesta fries; they are made with wheat.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *