Is Marinara Sauce Vegan? Vegan Marinara Sauce Recipe

Embracing a vegan diet is like a journey of discovery. Every time you go to the grocery store, it’s label time. You always check the ingredient labels to see if there are traces of animal ingredients.

Marinara sauce is an absolute top choice, and many vegans also wonder if they should give up on this original when they first switch to an animal-free diet.

Let’s see if the marinara sauce is vegan or not, along with a vegan marinara sauce recipe and alternatives.

What is Marinara Sauce?

Marinara sauce is a type of tomato sauce that is usually made with tomatoes, garlic, herbs, and onions. The many variations can include the addition of capers, olives, herbs, and a splash of wine as possible ingredients.

This sauce is popular in Italian-American cuisine that has strayed from its European origins. Alla Marinara is an Italian sauce made with tomatoes, basil, and oregano, as well as occasionally olives, capers, and salted anchovies; it is served with pasta and spaghetti, but also with meat or fish.

Is Marinara Sauce Vegan?

Yes, the traditional marinara sauce recipe is indeed vegan. It’s just tomatoes, vegetable oils, garlic, onions, and a few herbs in their most basic form. However, as with most foods, there are variations, and many are not vegan. Always check the label before purchasing a particular sauce.

Other ingredients, such as preservatives, can also be used. However, these are usually vegan. For example, citric acid is a natural organic acid found in fruits and vegetables. Hydrolyzed soy and yeast extracts are two other vegan additives and ingredients found in marinara sauce.

Marinara sauce controversial ingredients

It is never possible to claim that marinara sauce contains non-vegan ingredients. Even within the vegan community, what is classified as a controversial ingredient can vary widely. As a result, some of the ingredients below are completely non-vegan, while some are conditionally vegan, or vegan with disclaimers.

1. Xanthan Gum

Xanthan gum is a kind of food additive. It gets its name from the bacterium Xanthomonas campestris.

It is used as a thickener and to keep packaged food safe. It keeps the ingredients in soups, soups and broths pleasant and dispersed by preventing separation.

While it is usually made from simple sugars such as sucrose and glucose, it can also be developed from lactose, another type of sugar found in milk. Not all vegans avoid xanthan gum, as it’s often impossible to tell which helpful sugar has been used.

2. Meat

Vegan ingredients such as monosodium glutamate are sometimes used to mimic the flavor of meat (MSG). These compounds have the umami flavor of meat and are often not extracted from it.

Umami is actually glutamate, an amino acid known for enhancing flavor in a way similar to beef broth. Still, many marinara sauces actually contain meat flavors, so those that do are clearly off-limits to vegans.

3. Parmesan cheese

Cheese is an ingredient in many marinara sauces. Great Value, for example, has released an Organic Parmesan Romano Pasta Sauce with pasteurized milk cheese styles. Vegans do not consume dairy products. So if your marinara sauce contains Parmesan cheese, it is definitely not vegan.

4. Prego Spicy Sausage Meat Sauce

Prego Spicy Sausage Meat Sauce is another meat-based option. Tomato paste, diced tomatoes, tomato juice, Italian sausage, salt, spices, dried garlic, water, onions, sugar, canola oil and citric acid are all ingredients of this product.

Not only does it have a meat flavor, but it also contains Italian sausage. When this ingredient is added to the sauce, it naturally becomes non-vegan.

5. Hunt’s Meat Pasta Sauce

Finally, Hunts has had a meat variant of their traditional sauce for a long time.

Tomato paste, water, meat, HFCS, salt, standard corn syrup, soybean oil, carrot fiber, sugar, dried onion, hydrolyzed soy, corn and wheat compounds, spices, citric acid, natural flavors, yeast extract, garlic juice, and animal fat are all in this item.

As you can see from the ingredient list, it contains meat, sugar, and beef fat, so it’s clearly not suitable for vegans.

Vegan Marinara Sauce Brands

1. Yo Mama’s Spicy Marinara Sauce

Yo Mama’s Spicy Marinara is a vegan marinara sauce brand with a spicy twist on Mama’s classic recipe! Yo Mama’s marinara is made with California-grown tomatoes, garlic, onions, and olive oil.

Unlike most brands, which load their ingredients with refined sugar and sodium, the recipe contains no added sugars, is gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, and Paleo and Keto certified. Use this delicious sauce on your favorite pasta, cooked vegetables, lasagna or as a topping on your homemade pizza.

2. Carbone Marinara Pasta Sauce

Carbone Marinara Sauce was created by Michelin-starred chefs Mario Carbone and Rich Torrisi of New York’s Carbone Restaurant, as well as Carbone Restaurants in Hong Kong and Las Vegas. Italian grown tomatoes picked at their ripest, organic whole onions, garlic and basil are among the ingredients.

There are no sugars, fillers, or additives in this recipe; only fresh, all-natural vegetables, herbs and spices. Unlike other canned and sugar-filled spaghetti sauces, the former has no added sugars and only 5g of carbohydrates per serving, making it a diet-friendly sauce for topping pasta, pizza, meats, stews, and more.

3. 365 by Whole Foods Market Marinara Sauce

Everyday Value 365 Organic Marinara Pasta Sauce has a high nutritional value, little to no processing, and is expected to have a lower environmental impact and water footprint. It is one of the best vegan marinara sauces.

Organic diced tomato; Organic Tomato Paste; Organic garlic puree (organic garlic, water); Organic extra virgin olive oil; Organic onions; Salty; Organic garlic; Organic basil; Organic oregano; Organic black pepper are the ingredients in the marinara sauce. There are no added sugars, fillers or additives, just fresh, all-natural vegetables, herbs and spices. A great option for vegans.

4. Hoboken Farms Basil Marinara Gourmet Sauce

Hoboken Farms marinara sauce is made in the United States. Even the tomatoes are grown and harvested in the United States and produce the best vegetable marinara sauce.

Surprisingly, the ingredient label indicates it is pure or fresh. The gourmet sauce is a low-carb delight that goes great with pasta, lasagna, cooked vegetables or homemade pizza. There are no fillers, preservatives or flavors that are artificial. The marinara sauce has nothing that could endanger your health or the lives of animals.

5. The Vine Vegan Marinara Sauce

The Vine’s Vegan Marinara is made in small batches according to Eve’s signature recipe and is sweetened with extra onions and carrots. It is 100% plant-based and certified vegan and can be used as a sauce for your favorite pasta dishes or as a topping for zoodles and roasted vegetables.

All ingredients are organic and the lower sodium content is something to always look for in products. The taste was not affected by reducing the amount of salt.

Vegan Marinara Sauce Recipe

If you like tomato sauce, you’ll love this healthy marinara sauce too! It will really transform your dishes and you can experiment with a variety of recipes.

Vegan marinara sauce recipe can be made in less than 30 minutes with just 9 ingredients. It only takes one pan and is incredibly easy to prepare: garlic, fresh basil, oregano, red pepper flakes and sea salt.

Coconut sugar naturally sweetens things up and may seem like an unusual addition. However, tomatoes can be bitter and off-putting at times, but because this marinara sauce is rather salty, it balances out the sweetness and enhances the flavor of the sauce.

Is Marinara Sauce Vegan?

Homemade Vegan Marinara Sauce Recipe

Is Marinara Sauce Vegan?  Vegan Marinara Sauce RecipeSara Feone

Vegan marinara sauce recipe can be made in less than 30 minutes with just 9 ingredients. It only takes one pan and is incredibly easy to prepare: garlic, fresh basil, oregano, red pepper flakes and sea salt.

Preparation time 5 minutes

Cooking time 25 minutes

Class Dips & Sauces

kitchen Italian

Portions 2 cups

calories 14 kcal

  • 1-2 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil (check vegan status)
  • ½ onion (chopped)
  • 4 cloves of garlic (finely chopped)
  • 800 gram crushed tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoon tomato paste (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6 fresh basil leaves
  • Heat a large pan over medium heat. When the oil (or water) is hot, add the garlic. Cook for 1 minute, stirring occasionally, until mixture is just golden brown. Then add the tomatoes, oregano, coconut sugar, salt and pepper flakes to taste.

  • Bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce heat and cook, uncovered, for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then stir in the basil. Cook for another 5 minutes.

  • Taste and adjust the spices as desired, adding more salt for saltiness, oregano or basil for the beneficial freshness and herbal flavour, pepper flake for spiciness or coconut sugar for sweetness. You can also add nutritional yeast and/or tomato paste at this point to add flavor and richness (optional, but I usually add both).

  • Dilute with a little water if the sauce has thickened too much at this point. But if you prefer thicker, leave it on the thicker/bigger side.

  • Serve with your personal favorite Italian dishes, such as Eggplant Roll-Ups, Eggplant Lasagna, Chickpea Bolognese, Spaghetti Squash Lasagna or Veggie Meatballs. You can also serve over your favorite cooked pasta or spaghetti squash.

  • Cooked leftovers can be refrigerated for up to a week or frozen for up to a month.

Professional tips:

  • Using fresh tomatoes is also acceptable, but you will need to add a little more water.
  • Try experimenting with different vegetables, dried or fresh herbs and seasonings.
  • You can use garlic and onion powder instead if you want to save time, but fresh garlic and onion work much better for this sauce.
  • Tomato puree and nutritional yeast flakes come to the fore (for a little “umami” effect and more flavor depth)

Portion: 1tablespoonCalories: 14kcalCarbohydrates: 2.5GProtein: 0.8GFat: 0.5GSodium: 120mgFiber: 0.8GSugar: 1.5G

keyword healthy marinara sauce, homemade vegan marinara sauce recipe, vegan marinara sauce recipe

Also read:

Final Thoughts

Most marinara sauces are vegan. Even if you buy it in a supermarket or eat it in a restaurant, most of it will be free of animal compounds.

Yet you should not buy or eat what is in front of you without thinking. Always read the ingredient list and check with the wait staff about the sauce ingredients.

There are also hundreds of vegan marinara sauce recipes that you can easily make at home. And if you’re too lazy for that, just grab one from the list above.

Frequently Asked Questions

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.