IHOP is a family-friendly restaurant that serves breakfast every day. Their menu has something for everyone, even vegans and vegetarians. It is the perfect place to take the whole family for breakfast or lunch.
Unfortunately, IHOP does not have vegan pancakes is a well-known fact in the vegan community. Not just pancakes, but they don’t serve a vegan option in waffles, pancakes, French toast, breakfast bowls, or burgers.
Fear not, animal-loving vegans, there are still plenty of side dishes to order that you can enjoy guilt-free and mix and match to make a complete meal.
Below I share my tips on how to order these items vegan. You might be surprised which menu items are NOT vegan.
IHOP Vegan options to try
Are there vegan options at IHOP? Is a frequently asked question
Well, if you are not a fan of pancakes, waffles or both, this is the best choice. There are plenty of other options that make for an enjoyable vegan morning meal!
Vegan breakfast items at IHOP
- Oatmeal (It’s not vegan as it contains milk, but you can ask if they can make it in water)
- English muffin without butter (don’t forget to take some jam)
- Butterless Hash Browns (get some avocado slices instead and thank me later)
- Crispy Potato Pancakes
- Red potato pepper & onion hash
- Fresh fruit cup
Vegan side dishes at IHOP
- French fries
- Grated baked potatoes
- Crispy Potato Pancakes
- Potato from the oven
- Fried vegetables (onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, spinach)
- Steamed broccoli florets
- Oven roasted tomatoes
- Fresh Vegetables (Spinach, Tomatoes, Green Peppers & Onions)
- Sourdough toast without butter
- corn tortillas
- Flour tortillas
NOTE: Some of these options are only available at a limited number of stores, so always ask for availability at the counter.
Vegan salads and soups
- House salad without croutons and with any vegan salad dressing.
- Minestrone soup without crackers because they are usually not vegan.
Vegan salad dressings
- Balsamic vinegar
- raspberry vinaigrette
- Creamy Italian dressing
- Fat-Free Catalina Dressing
- Fat-free french dressing
Vegan Syrups and Toppings
- Sugar-free maple-flavored syrup
- Boysenberry syrup
- strawberry syrup
- Old Fashioned Maple Syrup
- flavored jelly
- blueberry compote
- Glazed strawberries
- banana slices
- Chocolate sauce
- Brown sugar
- fruit jam
- Baked spinach and mushrooms
- Fried green pepper & onion
- Dill pickle spear
- golden chamomile tea
- Organic green tea
- International home roasted coffee
- International Home Roasted Decaffeinated Coffee
- Flavored & Regular Iced Tea
- Juices (tomato, orange, apple, cranberry, grapefruit)
- Fountain drinks
- Selected alcoholic drinks are also vegan.
Make a Vegan Meal at IHOP
Making a vegan meal at IHOP is not that difficult. They have plenty of side dishes to choose from and their syrup selection will have your taste buds racing! There are also dressings, drinks and more that go well with everything on the menu for an ideal meal. You can try:
In IHOP, oatmeal is made in milk and it is not vegan. But you can ask them if they make it dairy free and use water instead of milk. You can flavor it with old-fashioned maple syrup or brown sugar. Don’t forget to order a fruit cup as a side dish with your oatmeal bowl. Order a cup of black coffee to make a complete breakfast meal.
IHOP offers an oatmeal porridge, also known as grits. Surprisingly, they contain no dairy and are made with water. You can enjoy a hearty bowl of grits, mix in some salt and pepper, and top it with sautéed vegetables, steamed broccoli, and avocado.
You can also sweeten it up by adding brown sugar, maple syrup and sprinkle with some glazed strawberries or banana slices.
English muffins filled with jelly and peanut butter are my all-time favorite snack at IHOP. You can combine it with a cup of black coffee and enjoy it at any time of the day.
If you’re craving a savory snack, fill this muffin with some oven-roasted tomatoes and avocado and fresh spinach. Try adding some flavor with salsa pr ketchup. Ordering all these sides will be a chore, but it will be worth it. Don’t forget to bring some lemonade or a splasher as a drink.
Order some fries and top it with sautéed veggies, avocado, and some salsa or dill pickle. Trust me, you will love it. Pair it with some fizzy drink to complete the meal.
DIY Fresh Salad Sandwich
Order some sourdough toast (without butter), house salad and avocado. Fill your sour bread toast with avocado and fresh house salad, add some flavor with creamy Italian dressing. You can also add ketchup if you like. I like my sandwich without ketchup. Orange juice goes really well with this fresh salad sandwich.
Homemade vegetarian burrito
You can also make a vegetarian breakfast burrito by ordering a flour tortilla, some hash browns, or crispy tater tots. Fill your tortilla wrap with hash brown and optional toppings such as avocado, some fresh vegetables, dill pickle, sautéed vegetables and/or steamed broccoli. Have some French fries as a side dish and a fizzy drink to complement your meal.
You can also try house salad without croutons and with a vegan salad dressing. You can also add some baked potato or potato pancakes to make a warm salad.
You can also try other salads from the menu, noting chicken, other meats, egg, cheese and sour cream. Add some flavor with a vegan salad dressing.
Minestrone Soup Bowl
Minestrone soup is the most satisfying option at IHOP during cold weather. It is a tomato-based vegetable and pasta soup. I like to order some baked potatoes and sourdough toast to make a complete meal.
Frequently Asked Questions About Vegan Food at IHOP
- Are pancakes vegan at IHOP?
- No, IHOP pancakes contain egg and milk, so they are not vegan.
- Are IHOP crispy potato pancakes vegan?
- Fortunately, crispy potato pancakes are vegan at IHOP.
- Is IHOP Syrup Vegan?
- Yes, all IHOP syrups are vegan except one which is Butter Pecan Syrup.
- Is the toast at IHOP vegan?
- Just Sourdough bread toast is vegan. Always state No butter when toasting.
- Is IHOP Hot Chocolate Vegan?
- No, it contains milk and IHOP does not offer a vegan milk substitute.
- Are IHOP eggs vegan?
- No, IHOP does not offer a vegan egg substitute.
- Is IHOP French toast dairy-free?
- No, French toast at IHOP contains milk, so they are not dairy-free.
- Does IHOP have a vegan burger?
- Unfortunately, IHOP does not offer vegan burger options on the menu.
- Does IHOP have almond milk?
- No, almond milk is not offered as a milk substitute at IHOP.
- Are IHOP Waffles Vegan?
- NO IHOP waffles are not vegan because they contain milk and dairy just like pancakes.
- Are IHOP fries vegan?
- Yes, fries at IHOP are vegan.
Lots of sides and a wide variety of breakfasts make IHOP a great place to enjoy vegan meals. So, what if pancakes and waffles aren’t vegan? Don’t worry, the menu choices you can order from IHOP will satisfy your hunger regardless of dietary restrictions.
Let us know in the comments below which meal options from our list have been your favorite so far!
Vegan options at other fast food chains