[Avoid these] Vegan Options at Jimmy Johns in 2021 henry be fCdmeAaV7EI unsplash scaled 1

[Avoid these] Vegan Options at Jimmy Johns in 2021

Checking for Vegan options at Jimmy Johns might not be the best vegan restaurant to get you perfect day meals but it sure does have a few dishes on the menu that are completely vegan. There are few sandwiches that you can customize and turn into vegan as well.

Again, there are many more options when it comes to vegan restaurants but if you want to try out some vegan options at Jimmy Johns has to offer, you have come to the right place. 

What should you expect in vegan options at Jimmy Johns?

Keep your expectations really low, that’s all we have to say. Maybe you won’t have that fun little lunch experience with your friends but if you want a quick bite or something to snack on while running errands or driving home, Jimmy Johns won’t disappoint you.

Apart from the number six sandwich, Jimmy Johns offers a variety of chips and dips that you can enjoy during snack time. 

What to Make Sure Before You Place Your Vegan Order?

Vegan Options at Jimmy Johns

If you are allergic to any foodstuff, mention the same to the cashier. It is almost impossible to have a totally “free from allergic ingredients” order to be honest. Because of one ingredient touching the other and using the same utensils for different dishes, it is unavoidable to call a dish “totally dairy-free” or “completely customized to your needs”.

For example, the Tuna Salad is dairy-free but has traces of soy, gluten and has egg slices. Their very famous bread contains allergic ingredients like soy and gluten. Though they have vegan options for bread, you can opt for a lettuce wrap for a light sandwich meal.

Whatever the reasons are, you must let the cashier know that you are serious about your vegan order and ask them to take special care while preparing the same. 

Here is a direct link to the information you need about the allergic ingredients used by Jimmy Johns – https://www.jimmyjohns.com/downloadable-files/AllergenInformation.pdf

Controversies Regarding Jimmy Johns’ Vegan Menu

The 9-grain bread has been in talks the most when it comes to it being vegan. After thorough research through hundreds of articles and best-rated reviews, drum rolls please, we found out that it was vegan.

In general, bread is the most questionable foodstuff for us vegans because usually, dairy and eggs are involved to fluff up the bread. But according to Jimmy Johns’ allergen information brochure, does not mention any use of egg or dairy products during the manufacturing process of bread. 

To be on the safer side, check out the list of bread, dips, and spreads, and Jimmy Johns’ toppings given below to help yourself customize your own vegan sandwich.

Vegan Bread Options at Jimmy Johns

  • The 9 Grain Thick-Sliced Wheat Bread
  • The 9 Grain Sub Wheat Bread
  • The French Bread
  • The Unwitch 

Vegan Bread Toppings at Jimmy Johns

  • Alfalfa Sprouts
  • Lettuce
  • Lettuce Wrap
  • Jimmy Hot Peppers
  • Sliced Cucumbers
  • Oregano-Basil
  • Tomatoes
  • Pickles
  • Sliced Onions
  • Celery

Special Vegan Sauces and Spreads at Jimmy Johns

Vegan Options at Jimmy Johns
Source: Sainsbury’s
  • Avocado Spread: It does not contain any allergic ingredients.
  • Yellow Mustard: Might contain traces of peanuts.
  • Jimmy Mustard: It does not contain any allergic ingredients.
  • Grey Poupon: It is highly unlikely to cause any allergic reactions but, according to the allergen information by Jimmy Johns, it might contain traces of peanuts.
  • Oil and Vinegar: It might contain traces of peanuts.
  • Italian Vinegar
  • Oregano and Basil Seasoning: It does not contain any allergic ingredients.

Indulge in some Crispy Vegan Chips at Jimmy Johns

It is highly unlikely for chips to cause any allergic reactions but, according to the allergen information by Jimmy Johns, they might contain traces of peanuts. For more information about how the chips are made head on to this website:

  • The Regular Jimmy Chips
  • The Thinny Chips
  • The Jalapeno Jimmy Chips
  • The BBQ Jimmy Chips
  • The Jumbo Kosher Dill Pickle

The Famous Vegan Sandwiches at Jimmy Johns

These, for sure, contain wheat, gluten, and soy. So, if you are allergic to those, stay away from them.

  • Gourmet Vegan with no mayo and cheese
  • Vegan Unwich with no mayo and cheese: It does not contain any allergic ingredients.
  • The number six Veggie sandwich

Some Common FAQs about Vegan Options in Jimmy Johns

Are there vegan cookies available at Jimmy Johns?

Sadly, the answer is no. Jimmy Johns does not sell vegan cookies. Since all of them contain eggs, milk, and other dairy products, it is safe to assume that there are zero vegan cookies at Jimmy Johns.

Are there any gluten-free options in bread at Jimmy Johns?

Unfortunately, the answer to this question is again a no. But wait before you jump to a conclusion. All the bread manufactured contains gluten to some extent except the Unwich sandwich. This dish is basically where all the sandwich filling is wrapped in a lettuce leaf. No bread as such.

How about vegan drinks at Jimmy Johns?

You can buy your regular bottled water right off the counter. Drinks like Diet Pepsi and Coca-Cola are also available.

Are the Jimmy Johns pickles, vegan and dairy-free?

Yes, they certainly do have their pickles vegan and dairy-free. They do not contain any traces of peanuts either. 

Is Jimmy John’s Avacado Spread Vegan?

Jimmy John’s avocado spread is vegan! It does not contain dairy or eggs, making it a great substitute for those who can’t eat them.

Is Jimmy John’s Bread Vegan?

All Jimmy John’s bread varieties are dairy and egg-free as per Jimmy John’s Allergen Guide. They most likely use vegan flour for their bread! On the other hand, some online forums claim their wheat bread contains honey. This information has been verified by Jimmy John’s.

Are Jimmy John’s Chips Vegan?

Jimmy John’s offers five flavors of chips, all of which are vegan! Salt & Vinegar is the only non-vegan flavor. The Regular Jimmy Chip, Thinny Chip, Jalapeno Jimmy Chip, and BBQ Jimmy Chip are vegan!

Are Jimmy John’s Cookies Vegan?

According to their Allergen Guide. The cookies at Jimmy John’s also contain dairy products and eggs. Because of this, none of Jimmy John’s cookies can be considered vegan.

Are Jimmy John’s Pickles Vegan?

Based on their own assessment. There are no dairy or egg-based ingredients in Jimmy John’s pickles. Pickles made by them are certainly vegan!

Conclusion

To be blatantly honest, Jimmy Johns does have mediocre-level vegan options. If you aren’t hangry or don’t mind a short list of options to choose from, Jimmy Johns would be quite alright! It isn’t the best vegan fast food restaurant but it wouldn’t hurt to try their original number six veggie sandwich once.

Similar Posts

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *